you're reading...
2009-06, 361, 362, BCSA / Biblionews History, Frank Forster, Victorian Branch

BCSA (Victorian Branch) Silver Jubilee Celebration 1958–1983

Book Collectors’ Society of Australia (Victorian Branch) Silver Jubilee Celebration 1958–1983

(Reprinted from Biblionews and Australian Notes & Queries, 260th Issue, December 1983 (Vol. 8 No. 4), p.58)


THIS milestone was celebrated in two ways—a commemorative dinner on Friday 30 September and a special meeting the following morning.

Thirty-one attended what proved a much enjoyed dinner at University House, University of Melbourne, and it was a particular pleasure to have present two of the original founders, Rollo Hammet and Ian McLaren. Our guest speaker, Dr Stephen Murray-Smith, was in excellent form. A specially designed menu, incorporating a brief history of the society and listing past presidents, honorary secretaries and present office-bearers, is an elegant reminder of the occasion, truly a collector’s item.

A ‘Symposium of the Book’ was presented at the special meeting called for the Saturday morning. Considerable endeavour had been made to attract an audience but Saturday, sunshine and blue sky were competitive. The 50 present, however, were well entertained. In the first session, chaired by John Holroyd, Peter Williams spoke on ‘Anatomy of the Book’, Vane Lindsay on ‘Design’, David Harris (from the State Library) on ‘Paper’ and Michael Lester (Bookbinders’ Guild) on ‘Binding’. Following morning tea, the second session was chaired by Dr John Chapman and in this Dr John Emmerson presented ‘Principles of Collecting’, Dr Wallace Kirsop ‘Australian Collectors’, and Peter Arnold (antiquarian bookseller) ‘The Australian Scene’. A very rewarding meeting concluded with lively discussion and refreshments.

Frank Forster.



Comments are closed.


%d bloggers like this: